Organizational Structure

Based on the conviction that travel and tourism is a leading global Industry, Middle East University MEU has established in 2018, a Center to manage Middle East Travel and Tourism Development Network, in the framework of its mission and societal responsibilities. It’s worth mentioning that MEU is an affiliate member to UNWTO, hence, it was inspired by the mission of UNWTO in promoting the sustainable development of tourism as a vehicle for peace and understanding, a driver for economic growth, human resources development and for resources management, as well as a mean for safeguarding the environment.

MEU is a national, educational, research-based, non-profit institution distinguished amongst 34 universities in Jordan by obtaining the Certificate of Quality Assurance /Gold Level from Accreditation and Quality Assurance Commission for Higher Education Institutions. This award is an official government accreditation awarded only to two universities. MEU has established various partnerships with international educational institutions such as Bedfordshire University in the UK to conduct undergraduate and graduate studies in Jordan and, have signed a partnership with Magna Charta Universitatum to enhance the quality of education provision.


In accordance to the regulations set by the Board of Trustees of Middle East University the organizational structure of Middle East Travel and Tourism Development Network Center consists of:

1- Higher Advisory Council:

Acts as a governing body formed to provide guidance in policies, goals, agenda, strategies, funding and ensuring good governance for the Network. Members of Higher Advisory Council represent renowned dignitaries and heads of national authorities from travel and tourism sector, and related sectors in Middle East and Mediterranean regions.

2- Board of Directors:

Is the supervisory body responsible for the development and execution of the Network’s policies, strategies and plans of action in cooperation with experts from the executive team.

3- General Director:

Is responsible for the development and execution of the strategies and plans of the Center in cooperation with Board of Directors. The General Manager heads the executive team and technical working groups established at MEU from academics and researchers, to support the efficient execution of strategic plans of the Network.

4-Specialized Committees:

The Board of Director forms subsidiary committees specialized in travel and tourism and related sectors. Its members are experts and professionals from the private sector companies and trade associations, educations and scientific institutions in Middle East and neighboring countries to achieve objectives of the Center. These committees are:

Economy and Development,
Knowledge, Education and Innovation
Environment and Cultural Heritage
Media and Marketing
Human Resources Development

III.Our Stakeholders:

Middle East Travel and Tourism Development Network provides services and products to large geographical and sectorial representations from travel and tourism industries in the following countries:

Middle East Countries: Jordan, Lebanon, Iraq, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Oman and Yemen.
2-North Africa Countries: Egypt, Tunisia, Libya, Algeria and Morocco.
3-Mediterranean Countries: Turkey, Cyprus, and Greece.

The stakeholders are categorized in the following order:


International, regional and national authorities: ministries and national destination management organizations DMOs, and relevant authorities in other sectors.
Private sector companies/corporates and accommodation trade, food & beverage, tour operators, entertainment, adventure, sports and transportation (air, land and sea).
Academic institutions, research centers and innovation centers.
Local community NGOs, Cultural heritage and professional associations.
Financial regional and international institutions that supports travel and tourism initiatives.
Media channel companies.
B- Individuals:

Entrepreneurs, workers and professionals in travel and tourism sectors.
Faculty members and deans.
Students and researchers.